Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

SIMPLE STEAM HEAT THERMOSTAT

I'm new to steam heat. It's an old Wiel-McLain boiler, one pipe system, converted to natural gas. The thermostat is an old 2 wire manual Honeywell with a mercury switch. It's old and hard to read the temperature and setting. What is a good simple modern alternative that works with an older systems. Low voltage DC non-programable desired.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,168
    Well, there's nothing that works as well as the one you have. Like NOTHING. However, your local friendly big box has any number of inexpensive battery powered programmable thermostats which will work well enough -- Honeywell Home, Emerson, even Bosch all in stock at prices from reasonable to OMG. You will have to set them for steam heat -- they come set for forced air -- but that's not hard. They won't work as well as what you have, but they are programmable and easier to read.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    HEAT92bcQrlmattmia2
  • HEAT92bcQrl
    HEAT92bcQrl Member Posts: 3
    Jamie, thanks so much. I will look into your recommendations. Will these digital type thermostats need to be set for the proper anticipation or is that all automatic? Gee, if newer isn't better maybe I should just keep the old one and learn to live with the awkward calibrations. The best advantage with a newer one would be I could possibly keep track of the system having trouble remotely when I'm away in winter.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,168