Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Old steam system Dunham I think

Options
duffy_4
duffy_4 Member Posts: 79
edited February 2022 in Strictly Steam

My name is Vincent I’m a hydronic contractor here in Chicago a friend of mine recently had his bathroom remodeled they move this radiator back 1 foot into the wall and now he has a water hammer at night any idea what could be causing this it looks like it’s pitched correctly I don’t know much about steam. Also the big radiator in the basement in the picture never gets hot it’s below the waterline and the returns of the other radiators.Those steam traps are on the main returns in the basement all the other radiators in the house were correctly well they seem to heat slow any advice would be appreciated thank you.

Comments

• mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,702
    Options
    Both that supply and return from that convector need pitch toward the steam main and the return main respectively so any condensate in the supply can return to the main and the condensate can return. the convector also needs pitch toward the return.

is that a vertical steam tap in the return? does it work?

where are the returns vented? steam in the returns from other failed traps will close traps in other emitters and prevent them from venting through the return.

what is the boiler pressure?

others will have to comment on the basement radiator.
    reggi
  • reggi
    reggi Member Posts: 522
    edited February 2022
    Options
    ^^ THAT^^
    Isn't there any radiator inlet valve or radiator trap that was on that radiator prior to being recessed ?

And I just wanted to add it's a Vapor system that's made to work on ounces of pressure.... Just a bit of twist on your learning curve of steam systems that you may be familiar with...
    Others will post..