Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Redoing my boiler setup. Wondering if I should swap the zone side...

rsilvers
rsilvers Member Posts: 182
edited January 2022 in Oil Heating
I am new to this but have been reading a lot, including the book Pumping Away. I am also studying for my state burner tech license.

My home came with a 1984 oil boiler and I plan to replace it this Spring with a Buderus 115/5. My current one is using a 0.75 nozzle at 140 psi for 22 minutes per hour average when it is 28 degrees out and every zone is set to 68. I think that means that at 0 degrees F (target in my state), I need 63,000 BTU gross or 54,000 BTU DOE to have the production match the loss. Arguably I could do this with a 115/3 that ran almost non-stop. It is a 3800 square foot 1984 house with lots of windows and it seems hard to believe the smallest 115 is appropriate for it. My experienced friend advises to not downsize and to just use an outdoor reset, which virtually downsizes the system. Not sure if I should go down to a 115/3 or 115/4 or do the 115/5. I will use a HydroLevel Primary with outdoor reset. Also I could change to propane, which would allow for a generator later. I believe after one factors in efficiency, oil and propane are the same cost.

Also, since this home has no AC, I plan to add about six minisplits and probably solar electric, so that can heat most of the time and the oil can be cold-day or emergency backup. I am getting heat-pump quotes now. If the minisplit works most of the time, not sure standby losses of an oversized oil boiler matter much.

Thirdly, I currently have the resistance hot water electric not in the loop and will replace it with a heat-pump water heater, and then not use the oil at all for the on-demand hot water.