Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Data Sharing Tool? HDD per Therm

I am new to the chat. Can some one tell me if there is a tool where we can share/compare our own data on HDD/Therm with others?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 24,126
    I don't think we have a formal tool for that, and in any event it would be difficult, as there are so many variables in what is being heated and how big it is and where it is and what fuel is being used. If it's any help, I can tell you that Cedric (powering a 7,000 square foot building with poor insulation) uses around half a gallon of oil per degree day,
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • fentonc
    fentonc Member Posts: 264
    I embarked on an effort to monitor my home heating system this year, and built a little system to closely track outdoor temperature and fuel usage. The house has a 140K BTU/hr natural gas WM boiler, 3 zone hydronic heat in a home with two ~800 ft^2 floors + a heated basement. I was surprised to see that my BTU/HDD-hr (which I expected to be roughly constant, based on my readings thus far) increases pretty linearly the colder it gets (the different colors are me experimenting with different supply water temperatures).

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 24,126
    Mine does that too, though not as dramatically -- based on about 20 years of data. I think -- but have no good way of proving -- that the effect you (and I) are seeing is due to infiltration, which is not linear with temperature, unlike thermal conduction, which is.

Unfortunately, I have no handy record of mean and peak windspeeds at the tracked location; that data, I expect, would be a major parameter.
    Br. Jamie, osb