Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Humidification Control

Options
I am an electrically inclined project manager at an MEP design firm. our mechanical engineering group specified several Nortec RH2 Humidifiers for a high end luxury condo. Regrettably we did not specify the associated controls. Now the walls and ceilings are up and the contractor is asking for a big change order to put in the controls we are recommending( please don’t come back with responses saying I bet your spec or the contractors contract covers it… I checked, it does not)- 1) a hi/low limit switch 2) an air proving switch 3) a modulating humidistat
would greatly appreciate some insight in terms of what control equipment we really need, ripping up walls and ceilings to place the hi/low and air proving switch would not be a good look
thanks ahead of time

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,549
    Options
    @electriKyle

I assume from what your saying that you don't have access to the ductwork to install the controls?

As far as air proving instead of an air switch you could use a current sensor on the air handler blower motor. This is commonly done.

The modulating humidistat would be wall mounted like a thermostat. I don't see any way around this one. Unless you have a wall mounted thermostat somewhere that by chance has extra wire in it's cable. It could be mounted in a return duct if the fan is run 24/7 or on a humidity call and interlocked with the humidifier.

The high limit humidistat has to be duct mounted and should be around 10' downstream of the humidifier in a straight duct no way around that one. Reason being on a dry day the wall mounted stat calls for humidity. Without a high limit humidistat to limit the humidifiers operation the humidifier can flood the duct