Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help with Weil Mclain GV 4 series 1 nat gas boiler

Options
First off, I am no heating expert. I have worked on many heating systems, large and small, but I am not an expert. I got a call from a friend, no heat, no hot water (indirect water heater) and it’s Dec in NY. Not able to get service person out for at least a week. I took a ride out to see if I could at least see what was going on. He has an early 90’s Weil Mclain GV4 series 1 boiler. His version of what happened. First off, the system has had min problems and maintained when failures have occurred. He has boiler at one end of a long ranch home, opened a faucet at far end of home to get hot water to the shower. He forgot that he had opened the faucet and it ran for up to 2 hrs. When he heard some strange noises from the basement he realized what he had done, turned off the water and ran to the basement. The boiler was spewing steam from the vent on the side, water temp was at 220*, press was at least 30lbs, he turned the power off, which obviously shut the pump down and water was apparently flashing to steam in the unit, he ran to the other end of the basement fearing for the explosion that he thought was imminent. I looked things over, flipped the switch, boiler went through firing sequence and fired but circulator wouldn’t run. Let it run for a few min and shut it down. Boiler and pump area were at approx 100* and return piping started heating up but no flow to supply. I am not familiar with the mixing valve setup on this system. We changed the pump to see if that would make a difference to no avail, and after a couple firings, the unit wouldn’t fire at all. No trouble codes, power everywhere there should have been. After coming home and doing some reading, I am thinking the mixing valve had a melt down or some kind of