Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

I'm new to steam heat and have a few questions about my home system concerning air vents.

Options
Egawrys
Egawrys Member Posts: 5
Bought an old home last year with a 2 pipe steam system that appears to have undergone many changes throughout the years. Newer boiler some newer copper pipes (yes I know steam in general should all be iron pipes). And a whole bunch of stuff that doesn't match up with the material Ive been reading. I suspect repairs and modifications have been done on a "whats on hand" basis.
- Nora Advanced Steam Manual
- This website as well as others
- Various engineering, insurance and other governmental agencies.

Last year (1st winter) the heat seemed to work well in that there were no funny noises, smells, and most of the radiators heated up quickly. At least from my perspective as I knew little about steam heat anyway. Only real concerns that developed were 1 radiator that only just barely started to get warm (still the case currently) and an air vent in the basement that started leaking some water (a lot at times actually). Enough so the auto fill put 69 gallons back in in roughly 4 months. More on these two in a bit. I called the local guys with ~20+ years steam experience. Couldn't tell me why the furthest radiator wouldn't get hot and sold me a new Hoffman 75 and scheduled a boiler service for 7 months out and ultimately cancelled on me).