Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

ODR with radiant and hw bb

Mosherd1
Mosherd1 Member Posts: 70
Working on finishing off the basement for a spare bedroom/family room. The house has two separate heating systems and either is completely capable of heating the house. The first one is a 40,000 96% 2 stage gfha furnace but doesn’t have ductwork to the basement. This system was mainly put in to have central a/c but also provide heat while I worked on the house and got the hot water system installed and to provide redundancy. Last winter just before we got brutally cold (-20’s F) I got the radiant system functional but not completed. With the original heat loss calculations, my design called for 105 or so water for the rooms with radiant floors in the house and 115*-120* for the rooms with radiant ceilings. And I have a hwbb in the master closet that was going to run off the 120* for the ceilings. I have a 50 gallon electric water heater that I pulled the elements out of for a 4 pipe buffer tank. Originally I came off the tank and fed a taco I-series 3 way outdoor reset valve to feed my floors, and an I-series 3 way set point valve that I was going to feed 120 degree water to my radiant ceilings, and then a third line straight off buffer tank water to feed the baseboard, but after running the system, everything works great with less than 110* water except for the master closet.  Now I’m getting ready to finish the basement (which is only under a portion of the house) I sized the baseboard using 110* water (35 linear feet for a 14x24 basement) my question is if I redo so piping and I only use the I-series outdoor reset valve to feed everything, will the basement baseboards still heat enough using the same rest curve as the radiant floors and ceilings…I can see only needing 90-100* water much of the time. And I’m still t