Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Anyone know anything about Kewanee's or Fireye?

I'm new to boilers, I just became a Local 94 fireman for NYC DOE public schools. We buttoned up my boilers, filled them, and now we're having some trouble firing. It loops through a regular purge cycle, then repeats the purge cycle without going into a steady heating phase. Seems like a computer issue where the burner isn't receiving a command to run normal operations, just loop through the purge cycles. I have ignition, gas system works, but it won't proceed past the purge cycle. Am I missing something, shouldn't it just proceed with normal operation?

Boiler is a Kewanee L3S-250-G02, dual fuel gas/no. 2 oil. Fireye control unit. The boiler itself is probably late 90's-early 2000's. Some units on the control board have been replaced, I believe the Fireye system is also a replacement. Boiler was retubed in 2018.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer me.

Comments

• JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,042
    Is there an air pressure proving switch that might not be closing?
    Or if you had the gas off maybe a low gas pressure switch that needs manual reset?
    SlamDunk
  • SlamDunk
    SlamDunk Member Posts: 1,570
    edited September 2021
    Edited: If it was a gas P switch, nothing should start. If air switch doesnt close, purge wouldnt start maybe the blower keeps blowing. If purge cycle is complete and you can 't light pilot the system should lock out. Sounds like you have a hung bit in your computer but even that should generate a lockout.
  • RPK
    RPK Member Posts: 98
    What’s the model number of the Fireye and which programmer does it have?   You should be able to find literature that describes the purge and ignition sequence in detail, and a wiring diagram, then go from there.