Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler replacement suggestions.

Options
Fitzy_Fitta
Fitzy_Fitta Member Posts: 1
I currently have a old 1982 Burnham V-14a-T. The tankless is starting to leak at the plate and My days are numbered with this system. 3 zones of baseboard, 2 full baths, 1,600-1,800 sq ft cape in New England. New windows and the insulation is fair. It’s only my wife, young son and myself in the house. The hot water usage is pretty low, we rarely take back to back showers and the tankless gives us no issues with hot water now. I’m a licensed pipefitter/ refrigeration tech and plan on doing the work myself. I was going to go with a 3 pass oil fired boiler and a indirect tank. The house does have solar, so my rates are cheap. Was also thinking of putting in a electric h/p water heater and some mini splits. What are your thoughts?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,280
    Options
    What you're proposing in your situation sounds quite reasonable to me...
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    SuperTech
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,519
    Options
    I would download the Slant Finn app and do a heat loss calc. You may be oversized now.

Is this steam or water?
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,519
    Options
    I would download the Slant Finn app and do a heat loss calc. You may be oversized now.

Is this steam or water?
    LS123
  • bob eck
    bob eck Member Posts: 930
    Options
    Look at installing a Trio cast iron three pass oil boiler with a indirect water heater.
    When installing this boiler if you ever want to go to natural gas or LP gas you can change the burner.
    Find a good professional heating contractor and they can help you out.