Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

In floor heat sharing the glycol system with snow melt.

Hi Guys. I am a home inspector in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Came across a house ( new construction) with glycol snowmelt system, and in floor heat for the basement was sharing the glycol. Both systems heated from one boiler, being a modern condensing boiler. Both systems operating at about 60 psi ( not reduced to 15 psi as I am accustomed to seeing. Two questions: 1) Any thoughts on risk with this approach? Is glycol fine for the in-floor basement heat? The two systems had separate control of course. 2) Any drawbacks of operating the system at a pressure closer to 60 psi rather than lower at 15 psi? and I'll throw in a 3rd) Are there any special boiler requirements for glycol systems.
Hope I did right by posting this as a new discussion. I searched but did not find any closely related posts.

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,024
    Seems like a high pressure, most boilers have 30 psi relief, some can be upgraded to 45 psi if the manufacturer allow. 60 psi sounds like it might be a tankless water heater?
    Bottom line, if all the components are listed for that pressure, it should be fine. Pumps, tube, fittings etc would be, not sure about the "boiler"

The expansion tank would need to be sized for glycol and pre-charged properly. Not connected to potable water, of course.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • Derheatmeister
    Derheatmeister Member Posts: 1,524
    edited February 2021
    Normally we separate these systems from each other via a Heatexchanger for various reasons.
    Some of these reasons are as the Following:
    1. If a leak to the snowmelt should occur it could drain or airlock the entire home leaving the home without heat.