Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Stand Alone Hot Water Radiator Ideas

suen
suen Member Posts: 1
edited February 2021 in Radiant Heating
First off, I'm not a professional but I've been intrigued by hydronic heating since I lived in my first apartment years ago. Recently, in December, I finally bought myself a couple of Holohan's books. Just this past weekend I was given a couple old cast iron radiators from a couple down the street who switched to a forced air system a week or so ago. They are sitting in my living room so they don't freeze.

So, I'm looking for ideas on how to use my two new toys - two small hot water radiators. Has anyone had luck converting old radiators to standalone heaters? I don't want to spend a ton but I'm open to buying a few items. I'm also not very interested in efficiency since this is mostly just for fun. I don't want to turn these into furniture pieces - I want to use them for heating in some way - hopefully without blowing anything up. :)

My two initial ideas are: 1) create a portable emergency heater I can use in conjunction with my fireplace. My old fireplace pulls more air out of the house than it adds in heat so I thought I could use a little wood camp stove to heat water inside the fireplace and pipe water to the radiator being careful regarding the water temp. I'm sure I'd need a pump since I can't rely on gravity. I'd also likely mount the radiator to a board with castors and store it in a closet. 2) Use a propane camp stove on my concrete and brick covered front porch and again pipe water/antifreeze to the radiator for an outdoor area in the winter.

I haven't started either project yet - I would love to hear about successful conversions from whole house heat to stand-alone heaters before I spend a lot of time.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,945