Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

I need help with a backup plan?

Options
I currently use a outdoor wood burner to heat 1200 sq ft of radiant floor heating. The wood master also heats the furnace and hot water tank through heat exchangers which saves on gas. The 1200 sq ft only heat source is the wood burner. No duck work in this area. I’m currently researching another option. I would like to have the option to go on vacation for a week and stop burning wood if needed. My house is a 5000 sq ft elementary school that closed down in the late 60’s. So venting a gas Micro boiler is a difficult option. Plus a over kill for a back up option that only needs to run maybe 2-3 weeks a year.

I’m new to the radiant floor heating and wood burners. This is my 2nd winter in Michigan. I’ve been burning wood for five months and it’s a lot of work. Not sure if I can justify the time but the cost to heat this building without it would be scary. 

I see a lot of info on boilers. I’m not interested in a tankless water heater. But it’s a option. Is the Hydroshark electric boiler 19kw model a decent option? At 50 btu per sq ft. I need at least 60k. Please!!!!  Any input will be greatly appreciated. 

Comments

• Jon_blaney
    Jon_blaney Member Posts: 316
    Options
    Are you looking for a whole house solution or just the radiant floor?
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,158
    Options

radiant in residential applications can get you mid to high 20 btu sq. ft. if your space in fact needs 50 btu sq you need supplemental heat 50 btu/ sq ft is huge number maybe recalculate that.
    Next determine what your best fuel costs are, electricity is usually most expensive unless you have some low KW rates, like 5 cents per KW.

https://coalpail.com/fuel-comparison-calculator-home-heating
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr