Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

What type of pro can diagnose exhaust/ventilation?

Options
ColdNights
ColdNights Member Posts: 21
I'm a novice here. I recently had a hot water heater and boiler installed. We redid the exhaust/ventilation pipes and put a new flue in my chimney (as it is really really old ceramic and was worried about it'd ability to hold in the smoke).

There's a bit of an exhaust smell from the utility room now that drags into the hallway, rooms around, and room above. I have a vent that is ~6 inches off of the ground, and leave a side window (~6 inches from ceiling) cracked. I have tried without the window open too but it seems the same/worse.

The people who installed the flue don't seem the highest quality, so I wanted to get another expert in to assess and see what's off.

What type of professional would be best to diagnose and come up with an action plan?

Comments

• ColdNights
    Options
    A couple more thoughts...
    - Room size is 7*15.
    - We have a vented door to the hallway.
    - We have CO monitors everywhere and none have hinted at an issue
  • WMno57
    WMno57 Member Posts: 1,265
    edited January 2021
    Options
    https://heatinghelp.com/find-a-contractor/

https://www.combustioninstitute.org/contact-us/
    Tel: 1.412.687.1366 (probably M-F 9-5)
    The Combustion Institute teaches classes and can recommend a contractor who is trained in this subject.

Your local Fire Department.

CO alarms do NOT alarm until it is too late! Some Kidde alarms have a "Peak Level" button that you can press to find the actual level of CO in your home. The display will show Zero until you press the button.