Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

new vaporstat old 4 story building --- burner cycles too often

I am a trustee in a 9 unit apartment building also I am a retired engineer electrical.
Sadly we have just one zone for the 4 story building so not all units are happy with the heat.
We have Steam Heat by oil and have recently installed a Honeywell vaporstat and have a Honeywell pressure control for series backup. Some radiators have adjustable steam release valves but others do not have the adjustment. With the thermostat calling for 73deg. and the sensor on the 3rd floor --- most units have enough heat(some windows are opened).
The vaporstat is set to 1.0psi and the pressuretrol is much higher 6 or 8psi.
My apartment is next to the boiler room so I readily hear the Carlin burner cycle on and off.
The burner cycles on and off too frequently, sometimes with only a 30 sec. off time. Of course this varies with outside temperature.
Do I need to calculate the Duty Cycle ? Or raise the vaporstat to 1.5psi ?

Comments

• nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,578
    Hopefully, the air vents on the radiators, are not releasing steam!
    What sort of main venting is on the system, and, if the boiler is oversized, can the burner be down fired to more closely match the EDR?—NBC
    100yrOldBuilding
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,973
    The off time is interesting, but what is the on time? That vapourstat setting probably is too low (don't get to say that very often!) but the only reliable way to be sure is to look at how the pressure varies while the boiler is firing up from a cold start.