Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Did PO royally screw me?

I have been getting that itchy feeling in my brain lately that strips the veneer of content off everything and replaces it with the strain of possible inefficiency. After a battle with a few other projects, heating hit my list and after a couple days surfing this forum I am beginning to think the previous owner liked to hire the cheapest guy for everything.

A look at a diagram regarding a Utic on another thread made this look practically labrynthian and wrong so... how bad is it? And I looking at a costly repiping? I am not a plumber by trade but know a couple and am slightly beyond handy, is this something I could tackle on my own if it needs fixing?

Figure I should mention that I started web surfing when I noticed pressure getting up to 5lbs or more during cycle and remembered hearing that steam should be low low pressure. Also, water likes to well in my radiators and make my vent closures bounce without sealing.

I have a lot going on I think

Tear me apart guys, any help/criticism is appreciated

SR

Comments

• ethicalpaul
    ethicalpaul Member Posts: 5,695
    edited January 2021
    The near boiler piping is wrong. The order of things needs to be:

Steam supply(ies) from boiler -> header -> (one or more main risers) -> equalizer

In your case, the steam can easily carry water up to your main. The header's job is to separate water from steam, and yours is definitely not doing that. Are you getting banging or water out of your radiator vents?

I can't see your pressuretrol setting, but 5psi is way way too much. It's indicator should be run right down the bottom of its travel.

As to your question, I wouldn't assume the previous owner screwed you, but his installer might have screwed both of you.