Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Rielo F3 intermittent tripping problem

bonhomie
bonhomie Member Posts: 9
Hi,
I've been working on my furnace tripping for a few months now, with the help of two top local techs from the gas company. Maybe somebody else out there can help point us in a direction we haven't looked yet?

We have a Rielo F3 burner on a carrier 75BTU(?) system. The burner will trip and need to be reset - sometimes daily, other times it will go a month or two without happening. The techs have done multiple full services now checking pressure, etc, and we've replaced:
primary control unit, CAD, solenoid, fuel pump, nozzle (currently using B instead of W. issue continued with both types), filters, draft regulator, purged the fuel lines with Co2 to remove potential sludge, re-routed return line to go into top of tank.

When it's running everything looks and performs perfectly. It usually trips overnight, but sometimes during the day.

We thought it could have been sludge, or the latest theory is water in the tanks. The lines run about 30ft from the tanks to burner, with a few twists and turns.

Lastly worth noting, the issue began last year, around the same time an inexperienced serviceman accidentally flooded the furnace by not tightening the nozzle properly. Lots of smoke, etc.. Anyway, I've been told there shouldn't be a connection, but could be worth considering.

Any ideas? We are stumped and it's getting chilly up here!
Thanks in advance

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,170
    Next time it trips, if it isn't too cold, don't reset it. Get a good tech. out there and see if he or she can figure out exactly what happened to make it trip. Since there are so many possible causes, that just might help.
    Br. Jamie, osb