Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Flame rollout switch - keeps going out

Options
So, I have just burned through my third flame rollout switch this week, and I'm stumped. Here's the story:

(and forgive my lack of proper terminology, I'm self-taught)
It's a Weil-McLain series 4 gas boiler, one-pipe steam. It has not been used since March of 2018. That same month, the chimney was relined with metal. We gut-renovated the house, and moved back, and it finally got cold enough to need this thing. After a week of working fine, it wouldn't start up.

Monday: Pilot is out. Won't light. Bad thermocouple, replaced that.

Wednesday: Won't start up. Bad flame rollout switch AND the thermocouple. Those were replaced, and the inside of the boiler was brushed and vacuumed. Took three hours.

Friday: CO detector goes off, we shut the boiler down. Also, bad flame rollout switch again.

Saturday: Replace the flame rollout switch (no plans to run the boiler full-time for heat, just testing), and run the boiler for 45 minutes. It's fine. I turn it off. But a couple hours later, when I went to test it, the switch was toast. I also had the chimney guy come to do an inspection, and the chimney is completely clear. He did mention that the draft hood has a lot of carbon in it, but it doesn't seem enough to restrict the airflow.

Also, for what it's worth, I clocked my gas meter and the boiler seems to be using 160,000 Btu/Hr (rating says input of 175,000/hr) Is that diagnostic of anything? Or is the quality of the flame most important?

At this point, I'm going to leave it in the hands of the professionals on Monday, but I want to know what they should be looking for. Time for combustion analysis? The whole thing is shut down, and I'm not going to mess with it, but I am trying to prepare myself for Monday.