Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Vacuum breaker at boiler, or not?

Hello, I'm a facilities coordinator for a school in New England built in 1959. I'm also an engineer. This year we've been vigilant in bringing back the classroom unit ventilators to bring in the maximum amount of fresh air. This has, not surprisingly, driven us into the boiler room to discover years of tragic "improvements."

In the boiler room is a NG forced draft Burnham V1109 (circa 2002), condensate pump/boiler feed storage tank (just recently added the tank to get 50 gal. + storage capacity) all feeding the original 2-pipe steam system with dry returns. The square footage rating of the boiler is in line with the mechanical engineer's original specifications from 1959. As you can imagine, however, this boiler will go from a cold start to full steam in under 10 minutes. We're 100% convinced that the original boiler could not do this!

The good news is that with watching hours upon hours of Dan Holohan's highly entertaining and incredibly educational seminars, we've "un-improved" probably 85% of the "improvements" made and installed a proper boiler feed control (Hydrolevel 250) and auxiliary condensate storage tank.