Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Newbie questions

OSBMXER
OSBMXER Member Posts: 5
edited November 2020 in THE MAIN WALL

In 2019 we purchased a large c1918 home with hot water system with newer twin Burnham boilers. For the most part everything works fine, but I purchased "Classic Hydronics" book to learn more hoping to fine-tune it. Great book! I'm not an HVAC guy, but I am a machinist by-trade so I have solid mechanical aptitude. Based on the book, I can see a number of issues with our system. So I'd like to step all the way back to the first step to do a heat loss calculation to determine the actual btu load on this big house. We don't have a lot of big houses like this in my area, so relying on local contractors who rarely work on these type of systems is not realistic. Honestly, I'm more confident in my own capabilities for numbers crunching, especially if they get more detailed. So here's my questions:

1. Can anyone recommend an online heat calculator that allows me to enter my own partial-value numbers? (example: we have a mix of single-pane, storm, and insulated windows, so I calculated my windows HM to be 47.9). I was on the USBoilers.net calculator, and they only have selectable variables from pull-down menus (67, 41, 34, 30). I will need to do the same for ceiling insulation, since one section of the house has only 3" cellulose, and the other has R43 (R38 batt + R5 vintage 1.5" cork)
2. When calculating the building's height, do we use the interior wall height (8.5' for mine) or the exterior height that includes each level's floor trusses (10' for mine)? That factor alone throws the calc off by a lot. On a 2-story, that would be 8.5' x 2 or 10' x 2.