Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help! Hissing Convector Radiator

Recently bought a house and this is my first time with steam heat. I had someone come out and service the boiler and fill the tank to make sure everything is working. I turned the heat on today for the first time and everything works great. The only issue is that there is one convector radiator that does not stop hissing. I pulled the cover off and took some pics. It seems to be hissing from the bottom of the silver piece. Can someone advise what needs to be done to make this hissing stop? Do I need to pay to get a professional out or is this something I can do myself?

The silver piece looks like it might be pushed back or slightly bent. I think the cover that is on there is not the one that was originally there and may have bent that piece. 

Also, is there a way to just shut this radiator off, or does it need to be on for the others to work? 

Any help is greatly appreciated. 

Comments

• ChicagoCooperator
    ChicagoCooperator Member Posts: 354
    The silver gizmo is the air vent and it looks like it's leaking. Others here can tell you what you should do and if you need to simply remove and put it back or replace it far better than I can.

Also, make sure you vacuum the convector and keep it clean for maximum heat output (and on any other convectors you have).
    IndieRevolver
  • IndieRevolver
    IndieRevolver Member Posts: 8
    I took a can of compressed air to it after the pics. We had insulation blown in a couple months ago and they started blowing it in there until I stopped them (You can see their hole in the top right of the first pic). We have two convectors and then standard radiators throughout the rest of the house. 

Thanks for the reply! Hoping someone can advise what I should do about this. 

• roelandp