Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hydronic Diagrams

Options
RedOak
RedOak Member Posts: 32
edited March 2020 in THE MAIN WALL
I'm looking for good boiler to hydronic baseboard system diagrams. We presently have a 4-zone propane boiler to finned-copper baseboard system, but, when the wind kicks up in the dead of winter, it runs home to momma.

As we have a nice supply of anthracite available to us, we have a line on a coal stoker boiler, but, no matter how many words I read about this type of heating -- which includes Dan's "Pumping Away..." -- I need to "see" an overall diagram with labeled components to really begin to "get it." As a builder, I've been a JLC reader for many years and, yes, I've seen articles with diagrams in them...which have been helpful...but none of those drawings show a system being supplied by a coal stoker boiler (with an internal domestic hot water coil).

If anyone would point me to a source for this type of drawing, I'd really appreciate it.

By the way, Dan sent me.

Thanks for your time,
Red

Comments

• ratio
    ratio Member Posts: 3,631
    Options
    Caleffi has Idronics issues available for download here. They include, not only drawings, but detailed explanations as well.
    mattmia2
  • mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,678
    Options
    Look at the thread about the runaway coal boiler in a power outage too, probably want to think about how to handle that.
  • RedOak
    Options
    ratio said:

Caleffi has Idronics issues available for download here. They include, not only drawings, but detailed explanations as well.