Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Forced air heater troubles.

Options
billwhetzell
billwhetzell Member Posts: 3
edited February 2020 in THE MAIN WALL
I am by no means an expert on heaters but probably have a better understanding than most ordinary people. We have an older trane forced air heater, about two months ago it quit heating, called the local heating company to come take a look. He works on it for about 10 minutes comes in and says easy fix 2 out of 3 of the open fuse links were bad and I replaced them and now your good to go. No explanation on why or anything, but we had no reason to doubt him as we had heat for the moment. Fast forward two months to yesterday, one new blower motor, 2 new breakers 10 open fuse links and we still have 0 heat. This system has ran great for 20 years practically maintenance free and all of the sudden after many failed attempts to fix the problem the heating company says the current ductwork is not adequate enough and we need to add a fresh air inlet, and they were going to tie it into the existing return air inlet duct before it enters the furnace, so the overall inlet air duct is the same size with just a different place to draw from. Isn’t that like adding more sand to an hour glass hoping it will flow more? I’m starting to feel like this is an attempt to only cool down the air enough so it quits popping the thermal fuses. We already have a $$ bill on the counter for the work they have done in the last two months and we still have no heat, and now they want to add the cold air system in. I’ve read on here that just putting in new fuses like that and walking away is most likely never going to fix the real issue, I’m looking for absolutely any insight on what the problem could be. They have inspected with cameras the existing duct work and said there are no blockages. Thank