Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hydronic Radiant System Critique Please

SENWiEco
SENWiEco Member Posts: 159
Good day folks
First many thanks for everyone’s help last June when I was looking for advise on Domestic Hot Water productions (https://forum.heatinghelp.com/discussion/170503/dhw-production-equipment-recommendations). In the end, I did decide to proceed with a hybrid hot water heater and will put it in a room under the garage that is isolated thermally and soundproof from the rest of the dwelling.
Now that the decision has been made to go this route for the domestic, I was able to greatly simplify the space conditioning system. While I am not a professional and have never designed a system before, I do have a significant knowledge gained via a formal hydronic heating course, extensive review of Ziggy's Modern Hydronic Heating text, and through discussions on forums like this one.
I was hoping for some critique on the layout I have come up with. Be as brutal as you like as long as you explain your disproval - if there is any :-)
I would be interested in any recommendations for tweaks or additions to the diagram. For instance, do I have check valves in all of the recommended places.
I have tried to include ball and purging valves wherever there is equipment that may need to be serviced and also at the bottom of multi-storey runs.
This system will be providing heating in the winter months and switch over to cooling in the summer months. There will be a significant portion of the year (shoulder months) when the system will be dormant due to internal heat gains and the high performance building envelope it is being installed into.
Many thanks in advance for any guidance provided. I will be happy to answer any questions if more info is needed.
I have attached the circuit diagram

Cheers

Sean Wiens

Comments