Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New single pipe steam heat owner - Oversized Boiler

Options
Hi,
I am a new homeowner and with that a new single pipe steam heat system owner. I've read "we got steam heat" and many posts here that have helped me understand the system, thanks! I'm an engineer and have really gotten into trying to make the system run as best as it can.

The primary issue has been that the first few radiators in the line get fully hot fast and the boiler generally shuts off before the last radiator receives any steam. There is a single 2 inch main that is 115 ft. long (this seems long compared to other systems I've read about here). There was a single Gorton #1 main vent at the end of the main that I have replaced with a Gorton #2. I'm thinking I should put in two more Gorton #2's (for three total) but have been holding off on that until budget permits. There are 11 radiators in the system with Gorton vents of various sizes that seem reasonable, but could be tweaked for better balance. Some of the vents whistle or have a whooshing sound, I believe more main venting would help. There is a subtractive pressuretrol set to 1.5 on the main and 1 on the differential.

Most of the main and runouts to radiators have .5 inch fiberglass insulation. None of the joints are insulated. There was an addition put on the house and the runouts to three radiators and some of the main line there have no insulation at all. My next planned step was to insulate all pipes with 1 inch fiberglass insulation (I've already purchased this), which I hope will help get steam reach the last radiator during a cycle. I did not purchase joint covers yet, I was planning to hold off on that until next year for time/budget reasons.