Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Old ornate cast iron radiator for hot water? Advice Needed

grant_andrew
grant_andrew Member Posts: 22
edited November 2019 in THE MAIN WALL
I'm finishing my basement and think (or thought) I found the perfect radiator to match the rest of my house. The size is perfect, but after getting some pictures, it looks like this must have been used for steam, and I have hot water.

I've been doing some research about steam to hot water conversions, and have gotten more confused. Can I just install a fitting in the plugged lower port to convert this to hot water, or are the tops of the columns not connected? I'm no expert, so I can't tell by the pictures.

I know I would have to plug what appears to be a small vent port, but it would be great to know if I could easily convert this to hot water. Thanks!!!

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,159
    Far as I can tell the tops of the columns are connected across -- and even better there is a fitting for the bleeder already there -- although it may be a class A bear to get it out. Is the old opening for the steam vent tapped (threaded?). Probably -- just get a new plug to go in it (or maybe, just maybe, that bleeder hole plug would fit. That would be nice...)
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • grant_andrew
    Thanks for the quick reply! I have confirmed that the existing hole is threaded, so that should be an easy plug. Thanks for the sanity check...so it's safe to assume the top is connected and it should work fine w/ hot water?
  • 136lin
    136lin Member Posts: 30
    Bigger problem will be removing the plug at the bottom to provide the second opening for the hot water circulation.