Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Carlin 60200 vs. 70200

Tremain
Tremain Member Posts: 2
This is my first time on this site and I'm a happy home-owner.
I have a Weil-McLain WGO boiler with a Carlin EZPro burner. The Primary is a Carlin 60200, still under warranty. It has developed a problem causing the boiler not to fire. The amber light flashes about once a second. The Weil-McLain tech advised me to slap the side of the primary (quite amusing) and this does, in fact, work. When I do this the boiler goes through its purge cycle and then fires.
So I suspect that this is a known issue and I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced this. It seems like it might be a cold soldered joint inside the primary and I plan on replacing it. Here's my main question:
I have a 70200 primary, which Carlin says is a compatible replacement. What are the pros and cons of using this instead of the 60200?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,159
    Do replace it. I have no thoughts on the merits of the two controls -- but what you describe could be a cold solder joint -- or a sticking relay. The former is not so bad. The latter could stick closed (instead of open) someday with very interesting (and undesirable) results.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,713
    70200 control has a digital display screen that will walk you thru the setup after you properly wire the control. there are several diagnostic screens that will assist in troubleshooting other problems and show a history of the number of cycles since the last error code or other event like "x number of cycles since last recycle"