Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

So much for that eye !

Jackmartin
Jackmartin Member Posts: 196
I was watching Youtube last night and I was following one of favorite welding channels ,Schofield welding. He was welding a 12 inch field fabricated saddle and since I am an old washed up welder and I was enjoying his craftsmanship. I used to have my welding licenses for pipe ,but now, I cannot follow the line anymore; ain't getting old grand. He time lapsed the branch and went down to cut in a weldolet. I noticed he was careful to remove the ground off the pipe before he used the torch. Strange the way your mind works or in my case doesn't work. I was 24 years old again ,on Canada Packers process meat floor, running three inch schedule 80 for an ammonia liquid line. I apprenticed at that time to be a industrial refrigeration journeyman the term HVAC would have been met with a puzzled stare.
I always worked with the same journeyman pipefitter he taught me alot and because I was young enough to be his son,he treated me the same way,including slaps up side the ear. We worked the 4 to 12 shift and somehow his wife had gotten hold of one of the shift engineers and he told our foreman, Gino ,had to go home ,something had gone amiss. So our foreman came up ,told Gino to go home and as usual ,he tells me to "get up there you little **** and start welding." I was in my third year before he used my name, because as he said ,you are halfway to being a tradesman. Our foreman was a Sergeant in the Canadian army during the war and he was a hard case ,plus given the fact,he was a big man among big men, he could back it up. He was hard on me,but I still loved the guy ,underneath he was one of the kindest people I have ever worked with.