Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

EDR Calculations for master bedroom

Options
Kyle323o
Kyle323o Member Posts: 5
Hello, I am a college student and I have a project on calculating EDR for my room size. Could anyone give me a run through on how I would calculate the heat loss , and EDR of a Bedroom with 1 window and the room is 13.6x13.6x8. It also says 65 BTU per sf foot?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,332
    Options
    Say what? EDR - equivalent direct radiation -- is a characteristic of whatever is heating the space -- radiator, baseboard, what have you. So the question is... what do you have in there?

It has nothing to do with heat loss -- except that you need enough radiation to compensate for the heat loss.

There are a number of on line ways for calculating heat loos -- one of the better is on Slant/Fin's website. Take a look at it...
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    Kyle323o
  • Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    Options
    What says 65 BTUs per Sq. Ft.?
    You can google the Slant Finn heat loss calculator, plug in the needed info, room size wall dimensions, number of windows, number of outside walls, ceiling height, etc and that will tell you the heat loss for the room, in BTU's. You can then convert the BTU's to EDR. Divide the BTUs by 240 (BTUs in one EDR). That equals the total EDR needed.
    Kyle323o
  • Kyle323o
    Options
    Well, it’s 65 per sf for the project we are doing. I am confused also. Haha I am basically designing the radiators to fit each room and he also wants us to get the heat loss per room. My main question is, can I put as many radiators as I please in the room? (As long as it’s within reason) and not undersized?
  • Jamie Hall
    Options