Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Viessmann Vitodens-100 F4 Error

yukonliving
yukonliving Member Posts: 5
Hello everyone,

I hope you can help me, as I am new to the scene with respect to boilers. My wife and I live in Northern Canada, and 2 years ago had a Viessmann Vitodens-100 with a combi installed into our house. It is powered off of a large propane tank, with about a 20 foot buried copper pipe to the house. Recently the temperature has been cold in the night (about -25 c or -13 f) but heating up to -5 C or 23 F during the day.

The thing has stopped working, and for the past week or so we have had no hot water. Turning it on or off (both with the reset and at the wall) results in it powering up for a minute before showing an F4 error. It did this while we were away and the temperatures were really cold (-39 C, why do you think we left!) and the same thing was happening.

I had a 'viessmann tech' come and check the boiler and he told me that there were no pressure issues, no gas valve issues, electrodes issue, and that the ionization current is more than good. According to him the F4 error is one that he is rarely able to fix.

I spoke to my contractor who feels that possibly the propane is getting too cold when it is in the ground and as a result the boiler is not burning. He is planning on coming out tomorrow to ensure that there is sufficient propane reaching the boiler.

Does anyone else have any ideas? I have been reading all I can but the internet seems to have very little information on it.

Many thanks