Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

split radiators into zones

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here, so pardon if i post anything wrong

I manage a 16 unit apartment complex that gets heated by single pipe steam, that part of the units are are used by a school, & part of the units have been converted into 5 offices each.

1 have 4 different times that we need the steam to work:
1) part of the school 5:00am - 11:00am, then 7:30pm - 10:30pm
2) part of the school only needs morning hours 6:30-8:30am
3) residential 24hours (with different temperatures at different hours, as described by law)
4) Offices 8:30am - 7:30pm

meanwhile if 1 of these 4 needs steam, the whole building gets heated & that a huge waste. For example, currently only 4 units are occupied by residential tenants, so they need 24 hour steam, but I need to heat the entire building.

So my question is, is there a possibilty that i should install a thermostat in each room & also a solenoid valve or airvent on each radiator, & this will shut off the radiator of this room when not needed. For example set the offices to close the valves at 7:30pm each night?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Where is the thermostat location now?
    You can try some TRV’s on the areas which only need heat part of the time, but they are expensive and have no timers on them.
    When only a small number of radiators are on for heating, the boiler runs less efficiently, and so they are used for comfort, more than economy.
    My suggestion is to make the system well balanced, with very good main venting at very low pressure. Short set backs (less than 12nhours), in my opinion will not save fuel.—NBC
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,168