Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help with system design.

Options
I currently have a gas boiler with indirect dhw and cast iron radiators. I would like to replace my system with a heat pump. I have some basic knowledge when it comes to boilers and design, but I would like some help with the heat pump. I was wondering if some of you could assist me in that respect. Since the heat pump doesn't have the same temperature output as my boiler, I might gets things wrong on my own. I'm also concerned about flow rates and such. So if anyone is game, I can provide many more details.
Cokomo

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,193
    Options
    Suggested steps:
    Do a room by room heat load calculation
    Determine what SWT are required for you radiators to meet that room by room heat load
    See if any of the current HPs can supply adequate SWT to heat under design conditions.

At best expect around 130 SWT from current low ambient A2WHPs, efficiency drops of course at those conditions.

Your radiators will probably need to be oversized a bit for this to work. But they may well be, especially if the home has energy upgrades.

A few free load calculators

https://www.usboiler.net/heat-loss-calculator.html

www.slantfin.com load ap
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • drooplug
    drooplug Member Posts: 26
    edited February 2019
    Options
    I did a room by room heat loss quite awhile ago. I can tell you the results were higher than actual. I've made some insulation upgrades since then.

I measured my total heat loss to be about 35,000 btu/h at 10F outside and 70F inside. I was able to heat my home with 120F water when it was 3F outside. I didn't time it, but the boiler pump was not running constantly. My design temp is 10F