Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam boiler with loop for baseboard heating is making the house way too hot.

Options
skang
skang Member Posts: 11
I just moved into an old house heated by gas fired steam heat. Just got a new boiler after my old one was found to be cracked. Sad because this is our first month in the house. All of this is new to me, so I'm a major newb. There is an extension to the house that is heated with baseboards fed through a hot water loop from the boiler. There are two thermostats on the first floor, one for the steam heat which heats the 3 main floors, and 1 for the baseboards in the expansion. After the new boiler, the steam heat section warms up great. The problem is when I try to heat the expansion. I set it to 70, it never quite gets there and it causes the boiler to run continuously, heating up the rest of the house to 80+, even though i have the steam section set to 65.

What is going on? Any expertise would be appreciated.

Photos of my setup

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,332
    Options
    There should be an aquastat on the hot water loop, or on the boiler itself. This should keep the boiler water in some sort of reasonable range -- say 160 to 180 -- to keep the water hot, but not boiling, for the hot water loop. Then if the main house thermostat calls for heat, that would override the aquastat and bring the boiler up to steaming -- and then when the main house thermostat stops the call, the control would revert to the aquastat.

Odds are that when the new boiler was installed, either the aquastat was not installed or was miswired.