Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam Air Vent Sizing Help

Options
Looking to replace all my steam air vents with Gorton vents before the cold weather sets in. I could use some help picking the correct size air vents. Here's some info:

Building:
- Single pipe system
- Apartment building - I live on the 4th floor (top floor). I do not have control over radiators/vents elsewhere in the building, just my own apartment.

Radiators/Heat pipes (and current setup):
3 - 2.5" diameter heat pipes (hoffman 40/41)
1 - 9" x 22" x 5" radiator (SVA Watts?)
1 - 37" x 27" x 8" radiator (hoffman 40)

Comments

• tkos115
    tkos115 Member Posts: 94
    edited October 2018
    Options
    I'm not an expert on this by any means but I know Gorton valves are generally a good rated valve. I also just purchased all new ones for my house not long ago. If you go on their website or do a Google search for a gorton steam valve sizing chart you should be able to figure it our from there. My guess is that you will need size C or D valves since you are farther from the boiler.

https://www.gorton-valves.com/products

That should be the link to the sizing chart.

• luketheplumber
    luketheplumber Member Posts: 149
    Options
    what is wrong with your current vents are they wiseling or some rads not heating up? or are some just plain failing
    I just earned my GED and am looking for a apprenticeship with one of these steam gurus on this site!
  • captainpork
    captainpork Member Posts: 5
    Options

what is wrong with your current vents are they wiseling or some rads not heating up? or are some just plain failing