Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hot water radiator versus forced air

Options
zoom
zoom Member Posts: 72
I am taking a old house back to the studs. I will be installing AC. The old house has hot water radiators and a WM boiler ~20 years old. I have no knowledge of the state of the radiators, since the house was in foreclosure, although it is clear that there has been some "clumsy" radiator installations more recently that clutter a few rooms quite severely.

So the question is: Replace the old hot water system with a blow heat system, or try an renovate the old radiator system with a new boiler? What are the considerations either way?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,280
    Options
    How comfortable do you really want the house to be in the heating season? If you're looking for comfort -- that is, if this is your house at least for the time being -- you'll refurbish the hot water system. It may not take that much work, mostly depending on how much damage occurred (if any) during the foreclosure due to freezing.

On the other hand, if you are flipping this place, you'll put an undersized (cheap) hot air furnace on the a/c, sell the hot water system for scrap (you won't get much), and get out of Dodge.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    Brewbeer
  • zoom
    Options
    Thank you Jamie ... this is not a flip, we will be here for a few years. I definitely am not going for cheap over quality and comfort.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,280
    Options