Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Need help with mod/con boiler sizing!!

Options
fiddlermd
fiddlermd Member Posts: 59
Hello everyone, I'm very new to this whole thing so forgive my ignorance.
I recently bought a home in northern NJ and am renovating. part of the renovation is getting rid of old boiler and replacing with something a lot more efficient without a chimney.
So far I got far enough to know that i'd like a mod/con boiler with an indirect water heater tank.
Now i'm researching brands/types/etc.. and came to various discussions of how a mod/con can and should be sized properly... and that following generic calculators can lead to efficiency loss.. so with that said.. here are the specs:
the house is about 3700 sf. Built in 1972.
There will be a total of 7 heating zones. 2 of them will be radiant, the rest will be baseboards. radiant will be in the kitchen ( about 400 sf) and master bath.
House has 5 bedrooms (4 upstairs, 1 down) and 3 total baths

Insulation in most of the house will be new and older parts seem fairly well insulated.
What else do I need to explain to get some idea of how to size it properly?

Thank you all!

Comments

• Snowmelt
    Snowmelt Member Posts: 1,415
    Options
    I just wrote on your other post, but you need a room by room heat loss for all them zones
  • RomanP
    RomanP Member Posts: 102
    Options
    As @Snowmelt posted above, room by room, then add it all up. If pretty well insulated, shouldn’t be over 120000 btus. Another key is figuring out your hot water demand for household. If the family is big and House has a lot of bathrooms, then required btu input for an indirect HWH might exceed your heating load and you might have to size your boiler by that.
  • fiddlermd
    fiddlermd Member Posts: 59
    Options