Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Trouble with Bryant aluminum boiler.

Options
stall3
stall3 Member Posts: 1
Thanks for reading. I need advice on this boiler I looked at yesterday. I'm a tech for a company that installs mostly forced air. I install 2-3 boilers a month. Anyways...
Called out to a boiler yesterday for noise issue. Series Q90-100. Model bw9aan000100aaaa. Which I found out later is a Bryant/Carrier. The boiler goes through its cycle draft inducer and pump sound good. Igniter glows. Soon as it ignites makes a high pitched squeal. Can't pinpoint it so cycle it few times with same results. Want to start with the simple, check propane tank. Half full. Check incoming pressure 10.64 " w.c. Notice no sticker that it's been changed to propane. Manifold pressure reading 3.3 wc. Home owner finds the manual eventually. Combustion analyzer reads High CO after a minute in the flue. I'm reading the manual and looking over the system for a little bit. Talking with customer, who has to ask me what I'm doing every time I breath. Been running great since it was installed six years ago, until a couple weeks ago when the noise started. This boiler has never been serviced. And the man who put it in hasn't returned his phone call. ( unbelievable!) So I'm checking it over, the 1/2" condensate line if the bottom of the exhaust is full and the condensate pump is dry. I took apart the condensate lines, the exhaust goes back in to the boiler and tees in with the line coming off the bottom of the boiler and goes to a contraption of a barb fitting threaded into 1/2" pic, which runs to the cond pump. I guess this is what the manual was calling the trap, but the manual wasn't helpful for me as far as that. I blew the hoses, got some junk out of the pvc, flushed with water.