Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Having a Weil-Mclain EG boiler installed....old piping doesn't seem correct?

esco105
esco105 Member Posts: 5
Hi guys, I'm a newbie to the forum. I have an appt with a contractor to install a new Weil Mclain EG-30 boiler installed. The boiler being replaced is the identical boiler. My concerns lie with the way the original boiler is piped. I have included pics of what I'm working with. From my research I have a counterflow system because there are no wet returns at the end of the mains. I did have some water hammering with the original system. I also do not have a Hartford loop but I've read it's not extremely important with a dry return system (counterflow). Can anyone tell me whether or not the near boiler piping is designed okay?

Comments

• Leon82
    Leon82 Member Posts: 684
    From everything I've seen here, that tee should be split into 2 different mains off the header
  • the_donut
    the_donut Member Posts: 374
    Pictures of main vents? Are those 2 spots the only drips for the main?
    esco105
  • Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    1. Was the connected radiator EDR calculated? Boiler needs to be sized to the connected radiation.
    2. There is no header. You need a header, at least 24" above the boiler water line to allow water droplets to fall out of the steam before it enters the mains.
    3. I don't see an equalizer on this system. You need an equalizer, at the end of the header. Configuration on the Header should be: Boiler riser, 2nd Boiler riser (if both are used), Main, 2nd main, equalizer at end of Header.
    4. Those two mains should be split off of the Bull Tee and each drop into the new Header
    5. Both Mains should have its own drip down to the floor.