Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Vapor Steam Help

tmarts
tmarts Member Posts: 4
Hello Everyone,
I am a contractor from Ann Arbor Michigan and am having some trouble getting this system running properly. I am getting banging after the boiler has been running for some time. A few years ago 1 boiler was replaced with 2 boilers, 1 for each end of the house. I believe at that time a boiler feed pump was added. Instead of trapping the mains they kept the water seal by creating a false water line before the condensate tank. I am not sure if this will work this way or if F&T traps needed to be added. Since the pictures were taken both boilers are running on a vaporstat set for 8oz cut out and there have been no complaints with not heating, just the banging pipes coming from the mechanical room. All radiator traps have been repaired with B&J cage units. Please let me know your thoughts and any suggestions. Thank you ahead of time.

Comments

• PhilDavid
    PhilDavid Member Posts: 68
    Are both boilers sharing the same boiler feed pump? If so you need two... one for each boiler
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,986
    First off -- do the two boilers serve completely separated systems? I hope so... otherwise things get very complicated unless they are right together and carefully piped and controlled. If they share the wet return connection do not have a steam equalizer between the headers, you may need check valves to keep steam pressure in one boiler from backing water into and flooding the other.