Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Need help - one pipe monoflo system

I am a commercial service technician and I got this call yesterday. It was a One-pipe, split loop system. I will attach a picture of the system layout. The problem was, the below-main convectors were not getting hot. The above-main ones were getting hot. They had a tech there for 3-weeks "bleeding air" trying to get the convectors hot. ("If you aren't getting air, it ain't an air problem, stupid!").

So what I found was, in the 2-1/2 inch main, leaving the pump, a contractor had added an in-line floor mounted filter. They cut the main, and piped down to the floor into a smaller 2" in-line filter with a 20 micron filter in it. As soon as I saw that I figured it was a flow issue. The customer told me that it was installed 3 weeks ago and the below-main convectors hadn't heated since. Luckily, they left a full size 2-1/2 inch bypass around this filter. I opened the bypass and almost instantly the below-main convectors started heating with 160 degree water. So that solved that issue. But there were some other issues that I noticed and I documented everything and wanted to bring it here to see what more experienced guys think. I have read a lot of books that talk about these systems from guys like Dan and Ray Wohlfarth, but this is the first one pipe system I've encountered in the field in 11 years.

In the attached picture, I did not draw in the convectors. The below-main convectors have a monoflo tee on both the return and supply, and the above-main have them on the return. Below main convectors are 3/4 inch piping, first floor is 1/2 inch piping, and second floor is 3/4 inch piping.

So my concerns about the system are the following: