Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Why is this radiator making so much noise?

Options
dbrown
dbrown Member Posts: 8
Hello all!

Let me start by saying that this is my second winter in this house and I would consider myself fairly familiar with the basics of steam heating. I've read two of Dan's books and I'm also an engineer.

The system runs very well and is generally very quiet (the Riello burner however sounds like a Boeing 737 at full taxi!) with the exception of one radiator. It also just so happens to be the one next to my bed and wakes me up most mornings.

The noise that it makes is a relatively loud metallic banging every 4-8s pretty consistently until the radiator is fully warmed up (air vent is closed). The radiator is silent once the air vent closes. It certainly sounds like water hammer but I don't see how that can be happening.

I've attached a few photos so that you guys can verify but I believe the radiator is pitched enough (the valve is to the right in the photo). The valve is nearly new and is fully open. It's hard to get a good photo but there are no obstructions inside the radiator that I can see - I can see all the way to the last fin. I've also tried doubling and tripling the pitch of the radiator and it seems to have no effect.

I certainly appreciate any help or guidance you can offer!

Comments

• nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    Options
    How is your main venting?—NBC
  • Mark N
    Mark N Member Posts: 1,115
    edited January 2018
    Options
    The air vent is installed upside down. Also how is the slide switch set? Fully opened or fully closed. Venting a rad too fast can cause it to hammer.
  • Neild5
    Neild5 Member Posts: 167
    Options