Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Do I need Main Vents?

Hello! The folks on this site have made me smarter about my steam, so I'm going to take the liberty of asking a couple more questions.

Below is a picture taken looking up toward the ceiling above my Slant/Fin boiler. As you can see, the Main A leaves the boiler and quickly splits into three branches: B, C and D.

Branch B takes steam to eight radiators across three floors. Branch C takes steam to two radiators, both on the first floor. Branch D takes steam to four radiators, also spread across three different floors.

This system was installed (with an older boiler) probably around 1910-1920.

Here are my questions:

1. Is this distribution-per-pipe typical? The 8-rad burden on pipe B seems like a lot, compared to the others; but I'm a total amateur and steam is full of surprises.

2. I have hunted and hunted, but cannot find any air vents off the main or the three principal branches, or really anywhere at all at the basement level. I could be missing something, but all the air seems to have to leave the system via the radiator valves. (One branch has a cap that may once have been a vent.) Would it be wise, or economical, or prudent for some other reason, to have vents installed on the basement branches?

Thanks for any and all insights and advice.

ted

Comments

• Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    "A" is actually a riser, not a Main. Ideally the installer would have used both riser tappings out of the boiler to feed the Header (the horizontal pipe right above the boiler) and they would have used black iron pipe instead of copper.
    The three mains, "B" , "C" and "D" should have each then dropped down into the header, individually. That way steam would have had a much more even distribution.