Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New To Radiant - Looking For Guidance

Options
DaveABC
DaveABC Member Posts: 10
edited January 2018 in Radiant Heating
Hello, I am new to radiant heating and plumbing in general. I've done some research and came up with the design below. I figured I'd post it for others to help. I'm at the initial stages. I can post my house layout if there is discussion or interest that starts. Thanks ahead of time for feedback. Please tear my design to pieces so I can make it better. Once the functionality is refined I'll work on the placement and optimizing space. :)

UPDATE:
This is an image of my updated plan. I deleted the original.

Comments

• Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,569
    Options
    Don't use an open system. DHW and heat should be separate systems.
    Do not use tankless water heater as boiler.
    Most radiant systems require primary secondary piping.
    PRVs should be as close to the boiler as possible.
    Always perform heat loss calculations prior to design.
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
    DaveABC
  • lchmb
    lchmb Member Posts: 2,997
    Options
    use mixing valves on your zones to help control a balanced temp out after doing what Zman said. An open system is just trouble waiting to happen. You could use a good boiler with indirect and with proper setup get very high efficiency out of it..
    DaveABC
  • Rich_49
    Rich_49 Member Posts: 2,766
    Options
    Forget everything you believe you have learned to this point . Let's start over . Where is this building located , what type fuels are available , what type of construction is the home ?