Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New boiler using excess water

jeffg
jeffg Member Posts: 6
We have replaced the original coal converted to oil steel tube boiler in our old 1910 5500sq ft house to a new Smith GSX288 atmospheric gas boiler. We filled/started the boiler five days ago and it works fine, except that it has tripped out on the LWCO twice now and I have added a total of 15 gallons to it. We don't have any underground or hidden piping and I don't see any apparent leaks. I am completely new to steam boilers, but this seems very excessive to me. Any ideas where we could be losing water or what to check on the system?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,173
    It is wildly excessive. Something is seriously wrong there. Did the system you replaced need water from time to time? If not, it's clearly a problem with the new boiler.

Get whoever installed the boiler for you back, right now, to find out what the problem is. If the boiler came in sections, I'm sort of thinking that it wasn't assembled properly.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    Possible causes of excessive water use:
    Leaks in underground condensate returns.
    Steam leaks through radiator, and main air vents, valve packings, or
    Holes or cracks in the boiler sections, (unlikely in your case).

Causes of “phantom” water use, where the water eventually returns, leading to an overfilled boiler:
    Dirty water due to lack of proper skimming boiling improperly, and throwing lots of water up into the supplies.
    Clogged wet returns
    Wet returns now higher than the boiler waterline causing water to hide due to pressure differences.