Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

What is the impact of faulty radiator vents?

bipbap
bipbap Member Posts: 191
Hey All, this is my first post after being a longtime reader...

I was curious about what affect faulty radiator vents could have on my one-pipe steam system? If a vent is stuck open and air continually passes out through that radiator, does this mean the system will not achieve the proper pressure because there is essentially a leak in the system? Or will it just start spitting steam?
Similarly, what is the affect of radiator vents that are stuck closed?
Can one faulty vent stuck open or closed affect a system of 20 radiators?

I'm a newbie, be patient with me- thanks for the advice!

Comments

• KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,756
    The answer to your last question is yes.
    If a vent is stuck open the worst that can happen is you are dumping steam which then leads to water loss. Water loss means extra makeup water, extra make up water means oxygen which corrodes the boiler shortening it's life.

If a vent is stuck completely closed a radiator won't heat much if at all. This can cause imbalance in the system, basically uneven heating.

Is there a specific problem you are seeing that you are asking this question?
    2014 Weil Mclain EG-40
    EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Boiler Control
    Boiler pictures updated 2/21/15
  • Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    If it is stuck open, you may not notice a problem until it is cold enough outside to cause that radiator to heat all the way across. When it does, you will see steam coming out of the vent.