Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

My Father's Way

HeatingHelp
HeatingHelp Administrator Posts: 635
edited October 2017 in THE MAIN WALL
My Father's Way

My father came back from his war in the Pacific and went to work in a supply house because they were hiring strong, young men who wanted to work six days a week.

Read the full story here

GrallertTinmanRoohollah

Comments

• Larry Weingarten
    Larry Weingarten Member Posts: 3,273
    My father fought in the Pacific as well. Maybe it's a generational thing, but he was rather stubborn too. Challenging him only made his heels dig in deeper. When he finally did buy a new car, he said "I've been buying day old bread for forty years, so I could do this." And like your dad, he had many good qualities that helped balance things. Great story Dan!

Yours, Larry
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,453
    edited October 2017
    LOL, lost my father 40 years ago. He was only 56. Stubborn, Irish. Good guy, Navy WWII. But couldn't see the forest through the trees. Didn't buy his first new car until he was 50. Buy that time my brother (the youngest) was 15 and my two older sisters were out on their own. Unfortunately, sometimes I am the same way (stubborn & can't see the forest) I have to fight that sometimes.

But they survived the Depression. I think that everyone that grew up and went through the Depression and WWII had a completely different outlook than we do.

How could they not?

Not many of them left

PS.
    Nice story. Love the old rotary dial phone. No one under 40 would know what that is!!
  • DanHolohan
    DanHolohan Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 16,513
    Well said, guys. Thanks.
    Retired and loving it.
  • SlamDunk
    SlamDunk Member Posts: 1,570
    edited October 2017