Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

I'm a newbie to steam

Options
I'm A newbie to the steam radiator life and the wife and I are so lost... is someone able to tell me if this is a 1 or 2 pipe system.
Everything I have read I believe it to be a 2 pipe system. I just bought the "We Got Steam Heat" book and it says that the radiators on a 2 pipe system should not use relief valves that screw in to the radiators. Is that true? If so should I remove them all and insert plugs into the holes? Thanks in advance for any and all help...

Comments

• JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,061
    Options
    You have 2 pipe rads with steam traps, usually no vents on the rad.

Back up for full view of 2 or 3 rads.

Also pictures of piping in basement around boiler...back up also.

Look for some vents in the basement on the top of pipes.....they would be big versions of the ones on the rads.....pictures also.
  • Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    edited October 2017
    Options
    It's a two pipe system. There are some old(er) two pipe systems that also have vents on the radiators but they aren't that common. I'm guessing The traps (unit opposite the valve side of the radiator) may have failed closed, preventing air from escaping the radiator and someone added vents to the radiators to allow the air to vent as the steam entered. Those traps can be rebuilt. Take a close picture of one so that @Sailah can tell you which kit you need. In the meantime, take the vent off of one of the radiators that currently heats up and put a 1/8" plug in the hole and see if the radiator still heats up. If it doesn't, that probably confirms the trap has failed closed.
    If, by chance, this is a two pipe vented system, @Steamhead can tell you what to look for on the system to verify that, in which case you'll want to keep the vents.