Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

boiler drain valve leaks and autofeed switches on too early and more!

Options
chuside
chuside Member Posts: 6
Bought a home a couple years ago (built 1950s) and this year a number of issues came up. I am completely new to working on heating systems, so some may suggest I call a plumber. If it comes to that I'm fine with it but I'd like to fix what I can so I can learn.

1.) The boiler drain has slowly increased in it's drip. It used to be occasional and is not constant. Spoke with a plumber who came to replace my hot water heater that broke and he suggested putting a cap on it, but I'm not sure that's really going to change anything and would like to fully solve the issue if possible.
2.) I looked at it again today and saw that sight glass was totally full so the autofeed overfilled it. When I first bought it, I did manually press the autofeed a few times, not knowing what I was really doing, so I'm not sure if that's what the situation is. I've drained it below the line and am waiting to see if it overfills again.
3.) This may be related to #2, but one of the rooms in my house pushed out lots of steam in the winter. It's spring now, so I don't think I'll experience it again, but would too much water in the system cause this to happen?

Thanks in advanced.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,324
    Options
    You have two choices on the drain -- replace the valve, which requires draining the boiler but is much the better choice, or putting a cap on it as the plumber suggested. The latter will work, but is rather a kludge.

On the fill -- the water should be half to three quarters of the way up the sight glass, and should be pretty stable when the system is running.