Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Identical Pumps in Series vs. Parallel - flow rates vs. power consumption vs. longevity

Options
tivo
tivo Member Posts: 16
edited January 2017 in Thermostats and Controls
Two identical pumps piped in series vs. parallel:

Q1: Will either piping yield double the system flow rates?
Q2: Will the power consumption be equal in both cases?
Q3: Will either piping affect the life expectancy of the pumps? Just thinking the pumps piped in parallel might be working "harder" overcoming higher head vs. pumps in series sharing the resistance. But then, when the head/resistance is shared, the pumps in series work at a higher flow rates, i.e. potentially more wear and tear so to speak... so I can't draw a conclusion... as you can already tell, I'm no engineer.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,286
    Options
    Q1. No. Parallel will almost double, but not quite -- how much off will depend on the system and pump head vs. flow curves. Series will also increase flow, but not double -- again, depending on the system and pump head vs. flow curves.
    Q2. In general, no. Depends on the efficiency characteristics of the pumps. However, it may be less power -- or it might be more.
    Q3. In most cases, no. In the rare situation that the increased flow causes a sufficiently low NPSH at the pump intake, you might, just possibly, cavitate, which will reduce the life expectancy considerably. Depends on the intake conditions.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • tivo
    tivo Member Posts: 16
    edited January 2017
    Options