Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Combustion analysis without a CO reading?

Brian26
Brian26 Member Posts: 26
Can't seem to find a good oil tech around here that tunes an oil furnace properly. I am sure there are some great ones out there but I have yet to find one. I'm an automotive technician so I am mechanically inclined and decided to go the DIY route after many lockouts and the burner running like crap.

Furnace is a Carrier OBM112 with Beckett NX burner. The 275 gallon tank is in my basement about 10ft away from the unit. I started with redoing the oil line. Its a single line with a general filter off the tank, 3/8 coated line with flare fittings to a tigerloop ultra with a spin on filter.

The technical specifications list it for 2 firing rates. .68 and .80 using either a .60 60a or .70 60a.

I have it fired at .77 with a .65 60a Delvan nozzle at 140 psi pump pressure.

I purchased a UEI C50 combustion analyzer but just realized it doesn't measure CO. I probably should have gotten the C75 that does but I am going to work with what I have.

Is there a way to figure out the CO based off these combustion readings using the UEI C50. I saw a few charts that show these numbers should produce little CO.

02 - 3.8
Co2 12.6
Net flue temp 390
Flue temp 437
Net gross efficiency 84.4
Excess air 22.2

Flue draft is .3
I am getting 135-140 duct temps.

Comments

• Brian26

Unfortunately not. CO is a byproduct of combustion at less than ideal conditions. You most definitely need a analyzer that provides that data if you want to be sure of your safety.

The combustion numbers for CO2 and O2 look perfect and it probably runs fine but you never know unless you verify.

You can bet that the last technician from an oil company that tested the unit for CO was...........never.